What’s Love Got To Do With It?

It has been said that LOVE is the universal language. Love in any language speaks to the heart.  When you truly love someone, it shows in everything you do. There are certain characteristics that accompany love. When you are in love with someone, you always want what is best for them. True love puts the other person’s desires before their own. When someone you love is going through a tough time, the best thing you can do for them is love them through it. You can’t change the past for them. You can’t fix the problem. But…you can love them unconditionally.

It can be difficult to describe the meaning of love. In the Bible, the Apostle Paul, describes love in terms that are easy to understand: If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would be of no value whatsoever. Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. Love does not demand its own way. Love is not irritable, and it keeps no record of when it has been wronged. It is never glad about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

How do you measure up with the Apostles Paul’s description of love? Years ago, I had a teacher who asked me the question I just asked you. He said, “In order to answer this question,  insert your name everywhere you see the word “love” or “it” in the passage,  and see if it describes who you are. If not, what characteristics do you need to work on?” This was an “eye- opening” experience for everyone in class that day. I encourage you to take some time today for the same exercise (starting with Love is patient…). It will become a mirror for your soul. It can change how you relate to others. It can change your life!

I don’t know about you, but I know there is always room for improvement in my life. When selfishness rears its ugly head, I need to take time to reassess, and make sure my character reflects love. Why? Because LOVE is the greatest gift of all!

Thought for the Day: Some people continually change jobs, mates, and friends, but they never think of changing themselves.

“The best gifts are tied with heart-strings…yours.”

 

This entry was posted in Making A Difference, Thought for the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

