Kick Off Your Shoes And Dance!

Have you heard the old saying, “When life gives you a lemon, make lemonade”? How about this one…”When you’re at the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.” This is sound advice. It sounds easy, but it can be difficult to do when you feel your world is crashing down around you. I learned a long time ago that I am not in control. I cannot control the weather. I cannot control a two year old. I cannot control my husband. I can’t even control my dog! It can often be hard to control my own behavior, appetite, attitude, and outlook on life. But in spite of it all, I have learned from my own mistakes to depend on “The One” who does control it all, and that is God!

When you put your trust in God, He will give you the strength to carry on during hard times, and to dance your way through the struggle! Last year at this time, I spent an amazing weekend with my mother-in-law. She had been diagnosed with terminal cancer, and only had a few weeks to live. The situation was totally out of her control, but she put her trust in God, and knew she was going to a better place. In spite of it all, she still had her sense of humor and was confident about her future.

Look for the rainbows in every situation you face today. If you have a chance to change a negative into a positive for someone today, do it! Instead of allowing little things to put you in a bad mood, make a choice to stay positive and don’t give anything or anyone permission to ruin your day. Be flexible. If your plans need to change, it’s okay. If your son or daughter leaves their clothes on the floor, its okay. If your boss gives you an unexpected project, it will be okay. One thing I’ve learned is no matter what situation arises, it will all work out! Practice saying this over and over until you can accept it….ready? “It will all work out.” It will all work out.” It will all work out.” Choose to enjoy life no matter what is going on around you. Why? Because it will all work out!

This week’s challenge: Be the kind of person who looks at a cloud and says, “There’s a rainbow coming in just a little while.” Then kick off your shoes and dance in the puddles until the sun comes out again!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

This entry was posted in Celebrate Life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

