What Makes You Smile?

oklahomaBack in 1943, Oscar Hammerstein, II, wrote the lyrics to a song entitled, Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin’. Then Richard Rodgers put the words to music. Even if you are not a big fan of old-time musical movies, like Oklahoma, you’ve probably heard the song. When I hear the song, it immediately takes my mind to a beautiful scene from the movie, and brings a smile to my face.

A smile given or received can diffuse a stressful situation. It can bring comfort to a troubled friend. When walking into a new place, if greeted with a smile, it can calm our nerves. I’ve heard it said that, “A smile is the light in the window of your face that shows that your heart is at home.”

This morning, I pulled out one of my journals from 1997. At the top of one of the pages, I had written – Things that bring a smile to my face…then I proceeded to list the following…watching children love to learn about Jesus, my husband’s sense of humor, the beautiful scenery here in Nashville, hearing my mother singing in her apartment and knowing she is happy and well provided for, families in restaurants giving thanks to God for their meals, the television show – “7th Heaven”, the women’s class on Sunday mornings, teaching piano lessons, watching my children continue to grow in their walk with Christ, beautiful music, phone conversations with my friends, walking, hiking…I filled the entire page with things that brought a smile to my face. My list could have been longer, but I ran out of room on the page. Funny thing – it is now 2012, and most of the things I listed in 1997 are still bringing a smile to my face today. And I have even more things to add to the list.

Take time today to list the things that make you smile. Tuck your list away, and when you’re feeling down, pull it out, and reflect on all the good in your life. Before you know it, you’ll have a smile on your face, and a song in your heart!

Oh What a Beautiful Mornin’
Music by Richard Rodgers, lyric by Oscar Hammerstein II
Copyright 1943 by Williamson Music

There’s a bright golden haze on the meadow.
There’s a bright golden haze on the meadow.
The corn is as high as an elephant’s eye.
An’ it looks like its climbin’ up to the sky.

Chorus: Oh what a beautiful morning.
Oh what a beautiful day.
I’ve got a wonderful feeling.
Everything’s going my way.
(Repeat Chorus)

All the cattle are standing like statues.
All the cattle are standing like statues.
They don’t turn their heads as they see me ride by.
But a little brown mav’rick is winking his eye.
(Repeat Chorus)

All the sounds of the earth are the music.
All the sounds of the earth are the music.
The breeze is so busy it don’t miss a tree.
And an ol’ Weepin’ Willer is laughin’ at me.
(Repeat Chorus)

What songs or movies bring you joy? Sing the songs, watch the movies, and smile!! Have a Fun-filled Friday!

This entry was posted in Attitude of Gratitude, Making A Difference. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Makes You Smile?

  1. Heidi DeBoer says:

    I smiled reading this blog because I was in the musical Oklahoma (Beautiful Morning was in it) in I think it was 10th grade, had such a great time doing it! I also loved 7th Heaven, never watched it til we moved to TN 4 yrs ago and we all watched all the reruns. We tried not to miss any.
    Another thing that makes me smile real big is seeing my kids on stage in plays they do. They are very active in theater at school and in the community.
    I go every night their plays are on.
    Not a good memory but I love the songs we sing in Sr High Youth group that Mike leads (we are sponsors) and my heart just fills with joy during praise band time.
    Fried Green Tomatos movie is a good one for a smile and some tears but more smiles then anything. Hugs to you Heidi

  2. Angie Kelly says:

    What makes me smile? When someone gives their life to Christ.

Leave a Reply

